Hard Water and Tankless Water Heaters

Hard water and Tankless

I cannot tell you how many times I have heard the fear from a perspective purchaser of a tankless water heater that they have been told that hard water MEANS they cannot use tankless technology.

NOT TRUE!

In fact, the opposite is true.

I installed my Rinnai unit at least 5 years ago.  Maybe longer, can’t really remember.

I have always said that tankless units should be cleaned every six months.  Since I live with very hard water I was curious what would happen if I didn’t.  One year lead to two years and finally to five years without any attention.  Please understand like they say on TV; do not try this at home.

My Rinnai was an earlier version that would reset the temperature to 108 degrees if there was a power failure.  What I discovered was that I could live with this setting.

You need to understand a very basic law of physics.  Minerals will attach themselves to pipe, etc more readily at higher temperatures.  What this meant for me was that I got 5 years at 108 degrees while at 140 degrees I would have destroyed my unit.

In addition, I saved a ton of money.  Why heat water to an extreme that must be treated with a shot of cold water?  I could say it was another professional experiment or that I am cheap.  One of those statements is true.

I was very pleased to realize how simple cleaning my Rinnai was.  With the use of the service valves and the cleaning kit we sell it was child’s play.

I know that my neighbors who have water softeners and conventional tank type water heaters are only getting 8-12 years from them.  I see no reason in not getting 20 years.

Hard water, bring it on!

This entry was posted in Installing Tankless, Rinnai, Tankless Consumer Info, Tankless Maintenance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment